Liner Notes

The Beta Band – The Three EPs


  1. Dry the Rain: 👍🏻
  2. I Know: 👍🏻
  3. B and A: 👍🏻
  4. Dog’s Got a Bone: 👍🏻
  5. Inner Meet Me: 👍🏻
  6. The House Song: 👎🏻
  7. The Monolith: 👎🏻
  8. She’s the One for Me: 👍🏻
  9. Push it Out: 👍🏻
  10. It’s Over: 👍🏻
  11. Dr Baker: 👍🏻
  12. Needles in my Eyes: 👍🏻

Did I listen to this album solely so that I could tweet this joke?

No, but it didn’t hurt. I was glad to revisit this album; it was better than I remember. There’s an effect that Beta Band uses a lot on this album (particularly The Patty Patty Sound section) that I really don’t like. Loop a set of vocals in a tight rhythm that doesn’t necessarily match the rhythm of the song. Then repeat and repeat until you have a whole layer of vocal dissonance. Beta Band seems to love that effect, but it makes me anxious. Songs like Inner Meet Me I like in spite of that effect, but I just couldn’t handle The House Song and The MonolithThe Monolith is the only song in all the records I’ve listened to this year that I genuinely wanted to skip; particularly because it’s 15+ minutes long. That said, there’s much more to like about this album than to dislike. If those were the only songs I didn’t like, and none of the others had that layered looped audio effect, I’d have rated this album 5 stars in spite of those tracks. I definitely hope to listen to more of The Beta Band this year.