1. Something’s Got a Hold on Me: 👍🏻
  2. Baby What You Want Me to Do: 👍🏻
  3. What’d I Say: 👍🏻
  4. Money (That’s What I Want): 👍🏻
  5. Seven Day Fool: 👍🏻
  6. Sweet Little Angel: 👍🏻
  7. Ooh Poo Pah Doo: 👍🏻
  8. Woke Up This Morning: 👍🏻
  9. Ain’t That Loving You Baby: 👍🏻
  10. All I Could Do Was Cry: 👍🏻
  11. I Just Want to Make Love to You: 👍🏻

“Etta James Rocks the House” Holy. Shit. Does she ever!

This record totally knocked my socks off. I usually am not a fan of live albums for a couple of reasons. Often the recording quality isn’t very good, and if you can hear the audience I find it almost always detracts from the music. Neither of these things were true in this case. The recording sounded good, and I thought that hearing the audience actually livened up an already raucous performance.

It’s hard to find a bad thing to say about this record. There was scatting on either Ooh Poo Pah Doo or Woke Up This Morning that I could have done without, but it didn’t really take anything away from whichever song it was (I forgot to note it when listening). The whole album was great, but Something’s Got a Hold on Me, What’d I Say, and I Just Want to Make Love to You were stand-outs. In fact, I think Etta’s version of the latter just because my all time favorite.

I will absolutely listen to this record many more times.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s